Blowin’ In The Wind

I am sure all of you have seen the images going around the internet of the frozen bubbles.  Well, I thought I would give it a try.  I got a bubble recipe off the internet, mixed the ingredients and gave it a try.  Would you believe after our freezing cold weather that it was too warm (at 15 degrees) to make it freeze.  Oh well, there will be another day.  I still managed to get a few good shots.  The recipe on the internet called for clear Karo syrup.  That really did make the the bubbles not pop as fast.  Here is my favorite of the shots…loved the sun glare I got off of the bubble!

BlowinInTheWind

Here are a few other shots…I had a piece of pretty colored paper I wanted the bubbles to land on, but the bubbles were not very cooperative!

    a_MG_6090_MG_6086aFor anyone interested, here is the bubble recipe I used…

1 cup water, 2 tablespoons of clear Karo syrup, 4 tablespoons of Dawn clear dishsoap (I used Palmolive)

Mix everything together slowly (so not to make it foam or bubble).  Store in an air tight container

17 thoughts on “Blowin’ In The Wind

  1. I too, like the first one the best…the sun flare is fantastic! I also like the one in the snow, it almost looks like 2 bubbles together. Nice job my friend! (and btw…I LOVE bubbles!) 🙂

    • I am going to try it again when it gets a little colder….supposed to be in the 40’s this weekend….weird weather!

  2. I don’t want to burst your bubble lady, but! Only a very bored person way out in the prairie would create bubbles just to freeze them! Put then to the use God intended, let Bogie chase em through the snow!

  3. Fab bubbles, everyone loves bubbles. I have to admit, I have never heard of Karo Syrup before, so was surprised to see that in the ingredient list! I guess I better smarten up and find out about it!

  4. You got some gorgeous bubble shots, especially that top one. We went out when it was 5 degrees. The bubbles that didn’t burst immediately floated for a whole long time. When they did burst, they kind of blinked into a cluster of ice crystals in the air. The few that landed crumpled a bit, but stayed there like a delicate fine walled piece of glass.

  5. Hi Tammy,
    Beautiful shots of the bubbles. My son tried the freezing water turning to snow. He threw a cup of water out and it turned to snow, but that was on one of the really cold days we had, 20 something below zero was the actual temp. Have a great day!

    Sherrie

  6. I would love to try but since we don’t get the freezing temps well once in a blue moon it would be few and far between. I love what you got even if it wasn’t what you expected. I would like to try this just to see what it would do here. Thanks for the inspiration Tammy.

Leave a Reply

